She died yesterday, and I remarried today

2004-05-26 11:23 p.m. - previous / next

Yesterday was a sad day in my little world, as the body shop at which my poor beaten Explorer was being repaired called me with some terrible news. The frame on one side of the truck was bent and pushed back three inches from its natural position. The cost of repairing my former steed exceeds the current value of the vehicle. In insurance speak, it is a total loss.

I said goodbye top my old, trusty friend yesterday, and it was a tearful one. Try as I might, I could not help but weep as I colleced my belongings from the X. As I was tearing my stereo out of the dash, the estimator that was handling my case came out and said "are you ok, man?" I looked aty him with tears in my eyes and said, "uhh, no dude." He politley apoligized and told me to come in and sign the truck away as soon as I was done.

It was the first new car I ever owned, and it will probably be the last, for a while anyway. I can't believe I fucked it up. Then again, I fuck up many things in my life that I love, so it should come as no surprise.

There is a bright side to this tragedy, and the uplifting boost comes in the form of:

Yes, a 1965 Dodge Dart. This ride is bratty as hell, and I am already in love with it. I have not felt so at home in a car since my 1968 'Stang (also dearly departed.)

It is a '65 Dart GT, complete with the infamous Dodge slant six, a red-on-red interior, floor shifter, vinyl bucket seats and that signature "old car smell. It probably wont be as reliable as the Explorer or drive as well in the snow, but it sure as fuck feels like my car. I fit in it. It's "me." I am sure we will have many long nights together, with me sliding gently under its hood with fistfuls of new parts and my favorite tools. It has been awhile since I had a ride I could work on, and I look forward to some one-on-one wrench time with my new friend.

Say hello again to the Dart, kids.

Hello, Dart. We love you. And Explorer, remember, we will always love you, and you will not be soon forgotten. RIP baby.

previous / next